1950-1959:           8 Points for winner
                     6 for second
                     4 for third
                     3 for fourth
                     2 for fifth

                     1 Point for the fastest lap

If two drivers drove same car their points were splitted to half.
Example: Third position (4 points) -> both drivers will get 2 points.

Changes after 1959:  1 Point for sixth
                     no point for fastest lap

Changes after 1960:  9 Points for winner. (9,6,4,3,2,1)

Changes after 1990: 10 Points for winner. (10,6,4,3,2,1)

Changes after 2002:  8 drivers get points. (10,8,6,5,4,3,2,1)

Changes after 2009: 10 drivers get points. (25,18,15,12,10,8,6,4,2,1)

Only in year  2014: Double points from last circuit.

Changes after 2018:  1 Point of fastest lap time to driver finishing in top 10.

Other aspects:

1950-1953:    Only four best positions through the year were counted for
              overall points.

1958,1963-65: Five and occasionally six positions through the year counted
              for overall points.

1967-1980:    Season was splitted into two separate series. The weakest
              circuit of both series wasn't counted for overall points.
              1979 four best positions from both series were counted and
              in 1980 five best.

1981-1990:    Eleven best positions were counted for overall points.

1991 onwards: Every circuit has been counted for overall points.

If less than 75% of circuit has been driven and it's impossible to continue,
points of that circuit have been splitted to half.

Indianapolis 500 Circuit was counted for Formula One points in 1950-1960.
These points can be found from its own section.